Skip to content
COMPANY RESEARCH · Security & cryptography

PQShield

Provides cryptographic building blocks that developers integrate into applications and devices to prepare for quantum-computer attacks. PQC runs on conventional computing hardware and does not require a quantum network.

Official website ↗
United Kingdom · Research reviewed 7 Sept 2026

Latest record: research brief added · axis ratings unchanged.

Review history 2 records

Record dates use UTC and show when an assessment or clarification was saved. Review dates show the evidence check. Earlier records were recovered from QubitWire’s source history; no earlier score movement is inferred.

  1. Research brief added · axis ratings unchanged

    Assessment reviewed 6 Sept 2026 · Research reviewed 7 Sept 2026
    What changed
    Research brief
    Previously

    None recorded

    Now

    Initial technology, access and evidence brief

    Sources in this record (5)
Identity & attribution
Organization record
PQShield (organization-137)
Recorded role
Post-quantum cryptography libraries and hardware IP
Recorded aliases
No aliases recorded in this assessment.
Name and period
No dated name or ownership transition is recorded here. An alias is a search aid, not evidence of a legal ownership relationship.
Product scope
Post-quantum and hybrid cryptographic software libraries for classical systems, within a broader cryptography product portfolio.

A company profile may discuss several systems. Capabilities remain attached to the product and conditions named in each source; they do not transfer automatically to related organizations. A verified security relationship has not been attached to this record.

Report an identity issue →
TECHNOLOGY & ACCESS

What it does. Where it fits.

Post-quantum and hybrid cryptographic software libraries for classical systems, within a broader cryptography product portfolio.

Who should look closer

Software and embedded-system teams that need supported cryptographic primitives and a version-specific assurance path.

QubitWire’s editorial assessment of practical fit.

Library evaluation

PQCryptoLib-Core offers an evaluation request, documented APIs and integration assistance; verify the selected product version and its validation scope.

Check the current access route ↗
DOCUMENTED EVIDENCE

What the sources establish

NIST certificate 4800 validates PQCryptoLib 1.0.0 at FIPS 140-3 Level 1 on specified configurations under an interim validation. Microchip separately documents PQShield library training within its FPGA developer ecosystem.

What remains unresolved

Certificate 4800 does not validate every PQShield version or all PQC algorithms; its approved-algorithm list does not include ML-KEM or ML-DSA. Algorithm testing, module validation and complete deployment security are separate questions.

The next question to watch

Does the exact library version, algorithm set and target platform meet the customer's required validation and side-channel assurance scope?

A research question, not a promised milestone.

QubitWire coverage

No published QubitWire stories currently match this organization. The evidence sources below provide the starting point.

Open research questions

Editorial questions for this profile. No reviewed closure decision has been recorded; unanswered questions do not lower the official score.

Open research question

Does the exact library version, algorithm set and target platform meet the customer's required validation and side-channel assurance scope?

What evidence would help

A source addressing this question must identify the named system, experiment or deployment, its conditions, measured outcome and remaining limitations. Is a claim about standards alignment, validation or a completed certification?

What would resolve it?

An editorial review must explain which part of this question the evidence resolves. A roadmap or an announcement alone does not close it.

No resolved, partial or disputed outcome is asserted without a reviewed transition and its evidence.

Suggest evidence
Open research question

Which named system or service can I use under the documented access route?

What evidence would help

Check the current terms for library evaluation. Identify the system version, eligibility, restrictions and whether the result used hardware or simulation.

What would resolve it?

Current primary documentation must identify the offering, eligible user and access conditions. An unspecified company-level access claim is insufficient.

No resolved, partial or disputed outcome is asserted without a reviewed transition and its evidence.

Suggest evidence
Open research question

Which exact algorithm, implementation and version is supported?

What evidence would help

Provide the source location, relevant product or generation, workload, resource constraints and reported uncertainty. Keep measurements, simulations and announced targets distinct.

What would resolve it?

A source reviewer must map the evidence to this exact scope. Missing disclosure remains unknown; it is not technical failure.

No resolved, partial or disputed outcome is asserted without a reviewed transition and its evidence.

Suggest evidence

Questions are drawn from the existing brief and sector reading guide. Research brief reviewed 7 Sept 2026. Following stores a local bookmark; it does not send email alerts or imply a scheduled review.

Since your review

Scope: PQShield. Reading a page never marks its records reviewed.

Keep a baseline and explicitly mark the evidence you have reviewed. This optional journal stays in this browser.

Existing material records remain available after setup. Routine rechecks and initial entries are excluded from material counts.

From claim to assessment

These are the existing assessment claims and their recorded criterion links. A source link is not an independent replication. New research does not change these published ratings automatically.

Source references in method 1.0 · assessment reviewed 6 Sept 2026
Recorded claim & sourceAssessment linkageProvenance & limits
Source 1

NIST lists PQCryptoLib software version 1.0.0 as active, interim FIPS 140-3 Level 1 validation, subject to configuration and security-policy caveats. The listed approved algorithms must not be generalized to all PQC algorithms.

NIST CMVP certificate 4800 — PQCryptoLib ↗Published 16 Sept 2024
Exact source location

No page, figure or section locator is recorded. Open the source and check the claim in its original context.

Capability

NIST validates a specific PQCryptoLib version and configuration. The assurance does not extend to every product.

Published rating inputs remain unchanged.
External source; collaborators may be involved

Source type: technical. Independent replication, experiment date and source-version fingerprint are not separately recorded.

Product and measurement scope: read the named system and conditions in this claim. No normalized product revision is assigned.

Review recorded 6 Sept 2026. Research brief reviewed 7 Sept 2026. These dates do not establish publication or experiment dates.

Report an issue with this claim →
Source 2

Version-specific catalog distinguishes PQCryptoLib-Core 1.0.0 CMVP certificate 4800 from later CAVP certificates and version 1.0.2's listed CMVP submission.

PQShield product certifications ↗Published Not recorded
Exact source location

No page, figure or section locator is recorded. Open the source and check the claim in its original context.

Capability

NIST validates a specific PQCryptoLib version and configuration. The assurance does not extend to every product.

Delivery

Supported library products have certification records, integration information and current technical briefs.

Published rating inputs remain unchanged.
Organization-originated source

Source type: technical. Independent replication, experiment date and source-version fingerprint are not separately recorded.

Product and measurement scope: read the named system and conditions in this claim. No normalized product revision is assigned.

Review recorded 6 Sept 2026. Research brief reviewed 7 Sept 2026. These dates do not establish publication or experiment dates.

Report an issue with this claim →
Source 3

Available evaluation and documented API/integration support for a configurable classical, PQC and hybrid cryptographic software library across common operating systems.

PQCryptoLib-Core ↗Published Not recorded
Exact source location

No page, figure or section locator is recorded. Open the source and check the claim in its original context.

Delivery

Supported library products have certification records, integration information and current technical briefs.

Published rating inputs remain unchanged.
Organization-originated source

Source type: technical. Independent replication, experiment date and source-version fingerprint are not separately recorded.

Product and measurement scope: read the named system and conditions in this claim. No normalized product revision is assigned.

Review recorded 6 Sept 2026. Research brief reviewed 7 Sept 2026. These dates do not establish publication or experiment dates.

Report an issue with this claim →
Source 4

Microchip lists PQShield libraries in its PolarFire FPGA and SoC FPGA partner ecosystem and points to hands-on training. This confirms platform support, not customer-wide production adoption.

Securing the future with post-quantum cryptography on Microchip FPGAs ↗Published 29 Jan 2026
Exact source location

No page, figure or section locator is recorded. Open the source and check the claim in its original context.

Use in practice

Microchip documents a partner implementation and training use case; deployed end-customer operation is not established.

Integration

Microchip describes concrete integration and training for FPGA implementations.

Published rating inputs remain unchanged.
External source; collaborators may be involved

Source type: customer. Independent replication, experiment date and source-version fingerprint are not separately recorded.

Product and measurement scope: read the named system and conditions in this claim. No normalized product revision is assigned.

Review recorded 6 Sept 2026. Research brief reviewed 7 Sept 2026. These dates do not establish publication or experiment dates.

Report an issue with this claim →
Source 5

A dated technical brief describes software side-channel countermeasures in PQMicroLib-Core Edge Grade and over-the-air deployment; this is a product claim, not an independent security audit.

PQMicroLib-Core for side-channel-protected post-quantum keys in embedded devices ↗Published 18 Mar 2026
Exact source location

No page, figure or section locator is recorded. Open the source and check the claim in its original context.

Delivery

Supported library products have certification records, integration information and current technical briefs.

Published rating inputs remain unchanged.
Organization-originated source

Source type: technical. Independent replication, experiment date and source-version fingerprint are not separately recorded.

Product and measurement scope: read the named system and conditions in this claim. No normalized product revision is assigned.

Review recorded 6 Sept 2026. Research brief reviewed 7 Sept 2026. These dates do not establish publication or experiment dates.

Report an issue with this claim →
Revision and evidence-family boundaries

Record reference: 2e0bc2c6bc1578aad6ff199db872f94e5fc0b73b34f55bcb63a1755e2e65e488. Read prior recorded revisions.

Repeated coverage can describe the same experiment. The assessment does not contain a reviewed claim-family grouping, so the number of links is never shown as a replication count. Source pages can change independently of this saved assessment; the original source text is not archived here.

CHECK THE ORIGINALS

Sources & evidence

  1. NIST CMVP certificate 4800 — PQCryptoLib ↗External source (may be a collaborator) · 16 Sept 2024

    NIST lists PQCryptoLib software version 1.0.0 as active, interim FIPS 140-3 Level 1 validation, subject to configuration and security-policy caveats. The listed approved algorithms must not be generalized to all PQC algorithms.

  2. PQShield product certifications ↗Organization-originated source · Publication date not stated

    Version-specific catalog distinguishes PQCryptoLib-Core 1.0.0 CMVP certificate 4800 from later CAVP certificates and version 1.0.2's listed CMVP submission.

  3. PQCryptoLib-Core ↗Organization-originated source · Publication date not stated

    Available evaluation and documented API/integration support for a configurable classical, PQC and hybrid cryptographic software library across common operating systems.

  4. Securing the future with post-quantum cryptography on Microchip FPGAs ↗External source (may be a collaborator) · 29 Jan 2026

    Microchip lists PQShield libraries in its PolarFire FPGA and SoC FPGA partner ecosystem and points to hands-on training. This confirms platform support, not customer-wide production adoption.

  5. PQMicroLib-Core for side-channel-protected post-quantum keys in embedded devices ↗Organization-originated source · 18 Mar 2026

    A dated technical brief describes software side-channel countermeasures in PQMicroLib-Core Edge Grade and over-the-air deployment; this is a product claim, not an independent security audit.

Keep up with the companies you follow.

Follow companies to find their published coverage here. Email alerts are not enabled.